RSS Feed

Upheaval

Wow, it’s been a while since I have posted. I aplogise to everyone who’s been disappointed with a lack of posts and/or insight into my little life.

Things have changed!

I moved – which was a dramatic rigamorole, and currently I rent a bachelorette pad. My friend Misty lived in the walk in closet. It’s big enough for a bed and has a bunch of shelving and storage area, so she’s happy with it. I have “partitioned” off part of the living room (I hung some curtains) for my “bedroom”.

Related – Misty has moved back from Ohio!
She was there for 5 years, she got married and then dissolved her marriage (He’s a jerkface) and moved back home!

I am no longer dating one of the most wonderful, smart, kind, handsome men I’ve ever met. Which is sad, but it happens.
If I’m being brutally honest with myself, I know that it wasn’t real, it was hormones and hope.

I am working, I found a really good job with a great company that most people hate… I am hoping that they can find me another position before my contract runs out. I have rent to pay! I don’t want to be unemployed and have to start all over again.

Scouting-wise, I’m going to be far too bloody busy this year.
I’m Scouter Amanda again, and have taken on the badge-component of program for the troop. I want the youth who want their Chief Scouts Award to get them. It’s a lot of work, so why not help them out when and where we can?
Also, our troop is hoping/planning on going on an extended canoe trip this summer, so that will keep us busy with training and planning.

I’m also DAC-Rover (Deputy Area Commissioner – Rover Scouts) for the Greater Victoria Area.
With that, I am starting up the Victoria Rover Roundtable (again. It’s lapsed in past years), as well as creating a new social camp to be held out at Camp Barnard! I’m really excited for it and I hope I can get the support of my peers.

I’m not going to school this year, I am hoping to start paying off my debts before I am forced to go back again. Which it’s looking like I will have to, but an education doesn’t really get you as far as it used to these days.  92% of Americans now have a Bachelor’s Degree. So really, I have a “leg up” over 8% of the workforce. BFD.
Also, I really don’t know what I want in life, what I’m really very good at, what I am looking for in a career or anything. I’m continually lost and I feel like a failure a lot of the time.
I see people around me who are passionate about their work, or a creative outlet or even gaming.
I like to bake? I like to crochet? I like country music?
I really enjoy Scouting, but paid positions are few and far between.
I just don’t know what to do. I feel like I’m coasting and can’t help but wonder what happens when the forward momentum runs out…

Leave a Reply

