RSS Feed

Check-In

I’m a grown up.

With the passing of my birthday recently (Which we will not discuss), I’ve realised I’m in my mid-20s. This is strange to me. I never thought I’d make it out of high school alive.

So here I am, in my mid-twenties. I’m a college student, who, after five years of trying various courses and changing majors and programs a couple times, has finally settled on an education path. (For now. I will probably change again.) I’m going to be transferring to a new school in the autumn and I’m excited, though approaching with trepidation. It’s a very large school, and I am just one person, afterall.

I’m also applying for jobs like crazy. And writing a lot of cover letters to go with my résumé. With writing all these cover letters, I have a) gotten better at writing them and b) realised I have the training and experience to go for higher level jobs.
And that I can be a manager, supervisor, etc. Because I’ve done it before.

I have “Been there, done that” for serious.

Ack.

Growing up is strange.
I know I have much more growing to do, and in the past few months I’ve gone from a shoo-in for a crazy cat/dog lady to having a relationship. I’ve also realised I want kids, but am scared beyond words at the actual prospect of them. I still want to adopt/foster rather than spawn my own.

I find I’m able to think about consequences, I’m trying to be less petty, trying to be more level-headed. In some respects, this is easy. In others… not so much.

This growing up and being an adult is strange. I do really enjoy making my own decisions, but I wish I didn’t have to pay rent. If I want to have a “undies and Tshirt Sunday” I totally can! I can have a bagel and cream cheese for dinner because I don’t feel like cooking.But then I have to pay bills.
Why can’t I be independently wealthy?! Sigh.

I suppose my consolation is that I am a pretty good person, I was did done raised right, y’all. I’ve grown to be a well-adjusted, productive member of society.
Yet, I still have fun, and plan on doing so for many years to come. (And I am ever so glad I’m done with the drama of adolescence. Thank the Good Lord for that!)

 

Leave a Reply

