RSS Feed

Dramatic Entrance

I’ve volunteered/been asked to be part of the technical crew for the Urban Arts Productions production of Marie Antoinette.
http://www.urbanartsproductions.com/

I’m So Excited to be back in theatre. It’s something I did and enjoyed in high school. (That’s an understatment. I literally lived in the auditorium for 3.5 years.)
I’m not acting and I don’t want to. I don’t feel like I need to be in the spotlight anymore. Besides, I ain’t purdy enough anyway :p

We had our first read-through tonight and the next month is packed with rehearsals! We also got the photo shoot done, which involved a lot of hoop-skirts and safety pins. (Note to self, bring a lot of safety pins to next costume rehearsal)

The show is held in the BC Maritime museum. It’s such an AMASING venue. It’s the old Victoria courthouse, it replaced the courts held in the birdcages in the BC Legislature’s basement. The third floor is the beautifully restored courtroom, once presided over by the (in)famous Judge Matthew Baillie Begbie, nicknamed the Hanging Judge. Some of the furniture is the only surviving Colonial furniture left in BC. And YOU, yes, you can sit in it and watch some incredible theatre.
(Gratuitous Local history blurb. I love history, and it’s so amasing to be able to do a production like this in such a unique and history-rich setting.)

So yes. Contact tickets@urbanartsproductions.com for ticket information. Show dates are Feb 24, 25, 26, Mar 3, 4, 5. I hope to see you there!

Leave a Reply

